Public Service Commission

A Citizen Centric Public Service

psc logo


The Public Service Commission (PSC), on Thursday 28 March 2024, signed a Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) with the South African-based African Leadership Academy (ALA), to implement an impactful high-level public service and government leadership fellowship programme.

Through the MoU, the parties will identify young leaders with potential for next generation public service leadership; train and develop the capacity of emerging leaders for government and public service; place Leadership Fellows into mentorship and learning opportunities within senior ministerial government offices; and support the professional growth of the Fellows and their transition from potential to leadership.

The PSC Chairperson, Amb. Anthony Muchiri who witnessed the signing of the MoU at Commission House, Nairobi, noted that the programme would transform leadership and enhance selfless service and integrity in the public service. He added that the Public Service Commission is committed to inculcating value leadership within the public service.

The ALA Senior Director of Career Programs, Ms. Valerie Wigget who led the ALA delegation commended Kenya for being the first country on the continent to embrace the noble course that places the youth at the centre of the future of management in the public service.

The MoU obligates the ALA among other commitments, to select and match appropriate applicants from its network of young leaders, who will be selected as Umholi we Africa Fellows (UwA). UwA Fellowship is a two-year fellowship that places young people in Special Advisor roles in a Ministerial office (senior officials) and in intergovernmental organizations.  

It will obligate the PSC to facilitate placement of the Fellows for a period of two years within senior policy level offices in ministries, state departments and agencies, among other commitments.

On behalf of ALA, Ms. Valerie Wigget signed the MoU while Dr. Simon Rotich, the Secretary/CEO of the Public Service Commission signed on behalf of the Commission.

Others members of the ALA delegation were Ms. Amanda Chembezi, Senior Programme Manager – Governance and Arts and Ms. Malilomo Nkhabu, Senior Programme Associate.

The PSC Chairperson was flanked by the Commission Vice-Chairperson, CPA Charity Kisotu; Commissioners Dr. Mary Mwiandi, Mr. Andrew Muriuki, Amb. Salma Ahmed and Dr. Reuben Chirchir. The Secretariat team, led by the CEO, included Dr. Sylvester Obong’o, Performance and Service Delivery Transformation; Ms. Selina Iseme and Michael Ogosso, Legal; Browne Kutswa, Communication and Daniel Oliech, Performance and Service Delivery Transformation and contact person for the programme.

Copyright © 2024 Public Service Commission of Kenya. All Rights Reserved.